Medal bonanza for Newmarket club

No Caption ABCDE ENGANL00120130827124546
No Caption ABCDE ENGANL00120130827124546

Members of Newmarket Swimming Club enjoyed a medal bonanza during the club’s fourth Sprint Open meeting on Sunday.

A total of 65 medals, including 20 golds, were won by those representing the Exning Road club, while 142 personal best (pb) times, 19 county times and six regional times were gained.

Stand-out performer Harry Newell won six gold medals following victories in the 50m backstroke, 50m freestyle, 100m individual medley (IM), 100m freestyle, 200m freestyle and 200m IM, along with gaining four regional qualifying times.

Ignacio Larghero was another multiple medal winner after securing gold in the 50m backstroke, 100m IM, 100m butterfly and 200m IM, silver in the 50m butterfly and 50m breaststroke, and bronze in the 50m freestyle and 100m freestyle, along with achieving two regional times.

Thomas Allison gained five county times, along with taking gold in the 200m IM, silver in the 100m freestyle and 100m butterfly and bronze in 50m freestyle and 100m individual medley.

Jack Saunders saw five medals head his way after pocketing gold in the 50m and 200m freestyle, and bronze in the 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 50m butterfly, as well as three county times.

Zak Baldwin was a double gold winner with victories in 50m backstroke and 50m breaststroke, along with winning silver in the 50m butterfly.

Daniel Millard won a medal of every colour by taking gold in the 100m IM, silver in the 50m backstroke and 200m freestyle, and bronze in the 50m freestyle.

Calum McBurnie gained a new county time as well as a gold medal in 100m breaststroke and bronze in both the 50m breaststroke and 200m freestyle.

Joseph Bavey won gold in the 50m butterfly.

For the girls, Maeve Pooley was the sole gold medal winner when claiming victories in the 50m backstroke and 100m IM, as well as silver in the 50m freestyle.

Other medal winners:

Ciara Gill-Ryan (silver 200m freestyle, bronze 50m butterfly, 50m backstroke, 100m freestyle, 100m breaststroke and 100M IM, as well as three county times); Etholle Marks (silver 100m IM, 200m IM, 200m freestyle and bronze 50m butterfly, as well as two county times); Sophie Bellwood (silver 100m backstroke, bronze 100m breaststroke and one county time); Alex Millard (silver 50m butterfly and 100m IM, and bronze 100m backstroke and 200m freestyle); Tess Wesley (bronze 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 100m IM); Ella McCleary (bronze 200m freestyle, one county time); Angus Dow (bronze 100m breaststroke); Belinda Dow (100m breaststroke); Harry Saunders (bronze 50m and 100m freestyle); Joshua Passey (bronze 200m IM); Julian Lomas (bronze 50m freestyle); Safi Axon-Coates (bronze 50m breaststroke); Charlie Davis (bronze 200m freestyle).