Heywood and Allen inspire Mildenhall to another win

editorial image





Mildenhall II 182 beat Easton 151-7 by 31 runs

Matt Heywood and Jon Allen both took three wickets as Mildenhall II claimed their fourth consecutive win in Division Two.

The investment in extra covers at Wamil Way was rewarded as the seconds had no problems getting their scheduled match with Easton under way.

Mildenhall batted first and were soon in trouble as Ryan Clark (9), Kieron Davis (3) and Tom Heywood (10) all departed to leave them on 26-3.

Luke Turner joined Alex Lack at the crease and the pair moved the score to 49 before the latter was bowled by Tom Bosher.

First team captain Ben Shepperson (12) was stumped by Will Thomas, with Peter Worthington (23) and Martin Taylor (0) seeing them struggle to 107-7.

Allen and Turner recovered the innings with a 73-run partnership, during which Turner reached his half-century.

Allen (23) was eventually caught in the deep by Athul Sarangan as he tried to force the tempo, with Turner (73) perishing just one run later off the bowling of Bosher (3-49).

George Lloyd (2-40) wrapped up the Mildenhall innings when he bowled Ed Finnis (1), giving Easton an extra over to play with.

Mildenhall got off to a good start trying to defend their score, with Shepperson holding onto a low catch to get opener Jol Kimmerling (5) out.

Finnis stumped the other Easton opener Alan Barker for six, before Attol Sarangan (41) and Mark Fernley (42) fought back for the visitors.

However Allen (3-39) and Heywood (3-40) did the damage as Easton finished 31 runs short on 151-7.

n In Division Four, Mildenhall III (172-8) slipped to a five-wicket home defeat against bottom-placed Ipswich II (174-5).

Alex Wilkens (49) was the top scorer with the bat for Mildenhall, with Neil Clark and Andrew Zajac taking two wickets each.