Home   Sport   Article

FA VASE DRAW: Lakenheath feature in the competition for the first time ever

Lakenheath were today included in the Buildbase FA Vase draw for the first time in their history.

It continues a rapid rise for the Suffolk club, which has been transformed over the last couple of years, culminating in the recent installation of floodlights at The Nest.

And they will once again re-write the record books on Saturday, August 31 when they head to higher-league Walsham-le-Willows in the first round qualifying in this season's FA Vase, which will conclude with a Wembley Stadium final in May 2020.

Ben Cowling, Lakenheath manager
Ben Cowling, Lakenheath manager

Elsewhere, if Mildenhall Town and Newmarket Town win their opening-round fixtures they will square off in the second round qualifying at Recreation Way on September 14.

Diss Town – winners of the competition in 1994 – will kick things off against Huntingdon Town, while Haverhill Borough will make the 15-mile trip to take on Halstead Town.

Haverhill Rovers, meanwhile, have been drawn to face Colney Heath in this season's Emirates FA Cup and their paths could cross again in the Vase if they both win the first round qualifying ties.

Saturday, August 31

First round qualifying

Newmarket Town v Gorleston

Framlingham Town v Great Yarmouth Town

Walsham-le-Willows v Lakenheath

Mildenhall Town v Swaffham Town

Debenham LC v Wisbech St Mary

Diss Town v Huntingdon Town

Ely City v Peterborough Northern Star

Hadleigh United v Stotfold

Long Melford v Little Oakley

Halstead Town v Haverhill Borough

Benfleet v Haverhill Rovers

White Ensign v Cornard United

Saturday, September 14

Second round qualifying

Kirkley & Pakefield v Debenham LC or Wisbech St Mary

Diss Town or Huntingdon Town v Mulbarton Wanderers

Thetford Town v Ely City or Peterborough Northern Star

Norwich CBS or March Town United v Walsham-le-Willows or Lakenheath

Mildenhall Town or Swaffham v Newmarket Town or Gorleston

Framlingham Town or Great Yarmouth Town v Fakenham Town or Norwich United

White Ensign or Cornard United v Newbury Forest

Cockfosters or Coggeshall United v Long Melford or Little Oakley

Hadleigh United or Stotfold v Halstead Town or Haverhill Borough

Colney Heath or London Lions v Benfleet or Haverhill Rovers

(Stowmarket Town have been awarded a bye to the second round proper after last season's exploits in reaching the last 32)

Read more

More by this author

This website and its associated newspaper are members of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More