Nominees on track for top honours

A bumper haul of names from racing Headquarters have made it on to the long-list of nominees for this year’s Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

Following last week’s announcement of the long lists for each of the six categories, 21 out of the 60 names that appear come from racing yards and studs from across Newmarket and the surrounding area.

Among those receiving long-list nominations is Frankel’s former work rider Shane Fetherstonhaugh, who is one of five representatives from the town bidding to win the Dedication To Racing Award, and Roger Varian’s racing secretary, Jim Hiner, who is among the final 10 in the newly created Administration Staff Award.

Each of those nominated will now be interviewed 
by members of the judging panel, which is overseen by racing writer Brough Scott, before a final short list of three finalists is decided in each category, except the Administration Staff Award, which will be selected by judges at the long-list stage.

Once the three finalists have been announced, each will be invited down to London on Sunday, March 3, to meet the judges to decide the winners, 24 hours before the awards ceremony takes place at the Jumeirah Carlton Hotel.

Winners from each category will pocket £5,000 and there will be a further £5,000 to be split among their 

The overall winner of the Employee of the Year Award, who will receive a cheque for £15,000, will be decided by judges from among the 
winners of the High Achiever, Rider/Groom, Stud Staff 
and Dedication to Racing categories.