Four make finals of prestigious awards

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE

Four members of racing staff from the Newmarket area have made it through to the finals of this year’s Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

Making it through to the final three in their respective categories at this year’s awards, which will take place at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower hotel in London on Febraury 25, are Ben James (William Haggas/David Nicholson Newcomer Award), Tony Garth (Saeed bin Suroor/Rider/Groom Award) Becky Stebbing (New England Stud/Stud Staff Award) and Stuart Jackson (David Simcock/Dedication to Racing Award).

All four will now be invited down to London along with the other finalists, to meet judges before the ceremony, which this year will be hosted by Channel Four racing presenter Clare Balding, where winners will be announced.

The winners of the Leadership, Rider/Groom, Stud Staff and Dedication to Racing awards, will each receive £5,000, with a further £5,000 to be spilt among staff at their yard or stud, while each runner-up will pick up £2,000 with the same amount being split by staff at their work place.

The winner of the Administration Award, which has been decided will receive £5,000, with an additional £5,000 going to their yard or stud.

As for the David Nicholson Newcomer Award, the winner will pick up £2,000, with the same distributed to staff at their yard, with each runner-up pocketing a £1,000, with their yard receiving the same amount.

The overall Employee of the Year, which will come from the Leadership, Rider Groom, Stud Staff or Dedication to Racing Category winners, will receive £15,000, with the same being split among staff at their place of work.