A major renovation of the Jockey Club’s most historic room begins this month.
The Coffee Room, which dates back to the mid-18th century, will be closed for two months while it undergoes refurbishment. The room can trace its roots back to 1752 when the newly established Jockey Club decided to build a coffee house on Newmarket High Street in the style of the popular London establishments of the day.
From the lighting to the curtains, carpet, and the unique, leather seated booths set into the walls, the room will be updated with new fabric and fittings.
Under-floor heating connected to the biomass boiler system, which was launched earlier this year, will also be installed. Fuelled by the Jockey Club Estates’ sustainable wood management programme, and supplying hot water and heating to the whole building, the system is designed to reduce the Club’s environmental impact.
When its re-opens next March, the Coffee Room will be the Jockey Club’s largest room available for wedding receptions and events for up to 130 guests.